Liechtenstein

November 24, 2019

The seasonal change is quickly shifting from autumn to winter. Darkness fills our windows as we sit down to dinner, and a single candle on the table lends more warmth than pretension. I feel blessed to be surrounded by my family even more during this time of year. The knowledge that we might be snowed-in, the feeling of drawing close for warmth still echos in my bones.

Liechtenstein is a tiny, mountainous country. I can only imagine how the reality of having the sky hemmed in by walls of rock would add to the feeling of winter enclosure. Does the flurry of Christmas demands bleed into your November, do you feel invigorated by the brisk wind and stark white, or do you feel the draw of hibernation?

Alperrosti

I have found a new friend who has taken on the challenge of eating food from all of the countries of the world. Natalie Sheridan completed her challenge in a year! That type of pace is beyond my comprehension. I was happy to find her recipe from Liechtenstein easy and successful.

Did you know I love bacon? It is piggy magic, and I am spoiled to have an amazing butcher shop that makes the best bacon. In any recipe that relies on simplicity, ingredient quality will determine success.

To the recipe:

Make a hash brown the size of a dinner plate. Use eggs to bind the potatoes, and fold in bacon because it is the source of everything good. Fry up the alperrosti/hash brown in a combination of bacon fat and butter. It is winter, and if we are going to hibernate, we must amass fat reserves. I did find the work of frying up the alperrosti to take longer than I would like for dinner. When I do it again, I would make them in advance and warm them for dinner. To finish grate cheese and place a fried egg on top. Bonus points for perfectly runny yolks.

One thought on “Liechtenstein

Leave a comment